Free book for science fiction or history! GET EITHER OR BOTHFree Books!

Halcyone Space series


This science fiction series by L J Cohen consists of four books: Derelict, Ithaka Rising, Dreadnought and Shuttle, and Parallax. Halcyone is the name of the ship owned by Ros after she salvaged it. I have only read the first two books, but I fully intend to read the others when my to-be-read pile goes down a bit (fat chance!)


This is what I said in my review of Derelict:

This book is amazing. The science is well-described and convincing and the characters are so well drawn, I really felt for them. The plot has so many unexpected twists and turns I found it hard to put down and eventually stayed up until past one in the morning in order to finish it. Highly recommended, and I shall definitely be buying the sequels.

And this is the blurb:

When Rosalen Maldonado tinkers with the derelict freighter, she’s just hoping to prove she deserves a scholarship to University. She certainly doesn’t count on waking the ship’s damaged AI or having three stowaways, Micah Rotherwood and brothers Jem and Barre Durbin, along for the ride. They all have their private reasons for hiding aboard and lives they are seeking to escape, but if the accidental crew can’t work together and learn to trust each other, they’ll die together, victims of a computer that doesn’t realize the war ended decades before any of them were even born.

Ithaka Rising

Here is my review of Ithaka Rising:

A great follow up to the first book with the same high standard of writing. I thought the way they found Ithaka stretched credibility, but I let it pass because I was immersed in the story. I loved it and will be buying the next one.

And this is the blurb:

After a reckless young computer programmer resurrects the damaged AI on a long dormant freighter, she and her accidental crew blunder into a galactic conspiracy forty years in the making.
A derelict ship and a splintered crew are not the rewards Ro had hoped for when she helped disrupt her father’s weapons smuggling operation. But with the responsibilities of full citizenship and limited resources, she’s forced to take her father’s place as chief engineer on Daedalus station while she and Barre try to repair their damaged freighter, Halcyone. When Barre’s brother Jem disappears, Barre and Ro race to find him before he sells his future and risks his mind for a black market neural implant. But locating The Underworld along with its rogue planet Ithaka has political consequences far beyond what Halcyone’s crew imagine, pitting Jem’s life against deadly secrets from a war that should have ended forty years ago.

Ann Marie Thomas head shot (80x90) (300dpi) Web GravatarAnn Marie Thomas is the author of four medieval history books, a surprisingly cheerful poetry collection about her 2010 stroke, and the science fiction series Flight of the Kestrel. Book one, Intruders, is out now. Follow her at